The Federal State Republic of West Papua was formed at the Third Papuan People’s Congress on 19 October 2011 in Jayapura.

In October 2011, 20,000 people came from the seven regions of West Papua to Jayapura and participated in the Third Papuan People’s Congress. Despite intense intimidation by thousands of fully equipped Indonesian security forces, the deep hopes of 2.5 million Papuan people were placed in this Congress. This assembly was the highest forum in which our have people freely engaged in the political decision making regarding the future of Papua.

Forkorus Yaboisembut
Forkorus Yaboisembut, President of the Federal State Republic of West Papua

Forkorus Yaboisembut from Sentani, head of the West Papua National Authority (the ‘WPNA’), was named as president of the National Federal Republic of West Papua (Negara Republik Federal Papua Barat) (the ‘NRFPB’) and proclaimed its independence and sovereignty. On the final day of the conference, the Indonesian military staged a brutal raid:

[O]n October 19, police and military units violently dispersed participants in the Third Papua People’s Congress […]. Activists displayed banned separatist symbols and read out a Declaration of Independence for the ‘Republic of West Papua’ on the final day of the gathering. Police fired into the air and detained hundreds of persons, all but six of whom were released the following day. Three persons were found shot and killed in the area. Police spokesmen claimed that the police were equipped only with rubber bullets and other non-lethal ammunition. Police beat many of those detained, and dozens were injured.

Source: US Department of State, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor, Country Reports on HumanRights Practices for 2011.

Profiles of the Federal State Republic of West Papua

  • The Name of Nation: West Papua
  • The form of State :The Federal Republic of West Papua
  • Symbol of State: Crown Bird of Victoria Regia “Mambruk”
  • National Flag : Morning Star Flag
  • National Anthem: Oh My Land Papua/Hai Tanahku Papua
  • Population : 2,5 (Two Million and Five Hundred Thousand)
  • Name and Currency type : Gulden parity with USD
  • Language: Pidgin (National),Melayu (local), English (international)

The Structure of Governance

  1. The Head of State : President
  2. The Head of Government: Prime Minister
  3. Judicateve Institution: Supreme Court
  4. Legislative Institution:Papua National Council and Papua Customary Council
  5. Security Defender : Papúan National Army
  6. Public Orderliness: Papua National Police
  7. The Head of Territory/States: Governor